Ruling on Vitamin D3 derived from animal sources

Q)  Can we drink milk and other dairy products fortified with Vitamin D3 in the USA? They say Vitamin D3 is derived from animal sources like pig skin, pig brain, fish liver and sheep skin. They add it after processing.

 

A)  Praise be to Allaah.  

 

You have to make sure about any food or drink that enters your body, for every body that is nourished on haraam things, the Fire has more right to it. So you have to be sure. If anything that Allaah has forbidden has been added to milk or anything else, then in that case it is not permissible for you to drink it. Fish liver, however, is halaal even if it was “dead meat”, and sheep skin is permissible if the animal was slaughtered properly according to sharee’ah or if it was tanned properly. 

 

 

Shaykh ‘Abd al-Kareem al-Khudayr.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s